This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in South Sudan

South Sudan is made up of 10 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in South Sudan. Information on all primary administrative regions in South Sudan.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in South Sudan alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in South Sudan

There are 10 regions in South Sudan in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in South Sudan
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Central Equatoria Central Equatoria State1.1,443,500Juba Juba300,000
Eastern Equatoria Eastern Equatoria2.906,126Torit Torit20,048
Jonglei Jonglei3.1,443,500Bor Bor26,782
Lakes Lakes4.695,730Rumbek Rumbek32,083
Northern Bahr al Ghazal Northern Bahr el Ghazal5.720,898Aweil Aweil38,745
Unity Unity6.585,801Bentiu Bentiu7,653
Upper Nile Upper Nile7.964,353Malakal Malakal160,765
Warrap Warrap State8.920,045Kajok Kajok-
Western Bahr al Ghazal Western Bahr el Ghazal State9.333,431Wau Wau127,384
Western Equatoria Western Equatoria10.619,029Yambio Yambio40,382