This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in South Sudan

South Sudan is made up of 10 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in South Sudan. Information on all primary administrative regions in South Sudan.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in South Sudan alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in South Sudan

There are 10 regions in South Sudan in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in South Sudan
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Central Equatoria Central Equatoria State1.1,443,500Juba Juba300,000
Upper Nile Upper Nile2.964,353Malakal Malakal160,765
Western Bahr al Ghazal Western Bahr el Ghazal State3.333,431Wau Wau127,384
Western Equatoria Western Equatoria4.619,029Yambio Yambio40,382
Northern Bahr al Ghazal Northern Bahr el Ghazal5.720,898Aweil Aweil38,745
Lakes Lakes6.695,730Rumbek Rumbek32,083
Jonglei Jonglei7.1,443,500Bor Bor26,782
Eastern Equatoria Eastern Equatoria8.906,126Torit Torit20,048
Unity Unity9.585,801Bentiu Bentiu7,653
Warrap Warrap State10.920,045Kajok Kajok-